Next Round

  • Days
  • Hours
  • Mins
View All Rounds

About the Australian Prototype Series

Image may contain: outdoor

FOLLOWING a strong debut season, the Australian Prototype Series (APS) will continue to build Sports Car racing in Australia moving forward into the 2019 season.

Embracing a remarkably diverse array of open-top sports and open wheel cars, the APS launched onto the Australian motorsport landscape in 2017 with competitive racing and a hint of what is to come. 

Series Vision

Effectively evolving from the former Australian Sports Racer category, the Australian Prototype Series will 

The remarkably competitive series saw even performance between the diverse group of competing vehicles and drivers.

Three different drivers won the first three rounds, six drivers remained in contention for the championship through to the final round of the season.

The top three finishing positions in the overall championship went to a West Sports Racer, a Radical SR3 and a RFR1000 open wheel racer – one car from each of the three key classes in the championship.

This open competition – and the fact 14 different drivers scored a race podium across some point of the season – showcases the depth of the series and how drivers of different experience levels and with different experience levels can be competitive.

CN cars were introduced for the first time in 2018 and though they only made a brief appearance in the opening round, the exposure gained around the introduction of international-style sports cars into the championship proved their inclusion was worthy.

No automatic alt text available.

The addition of CN Prototypes closes the gap to international-level Prototype competition and is set to make the Australian Prototype Series a legitimate pathway for drivers looking to access the increasingly popular LMP3 and LMP2-based series in Asia, Europe and America.

This allows the APS to serve two purposes; be a place for young drivers to gain experience for international sports car competition, and for amateur or enthusiast racers to enjoy their competition, be competitive and race some of the most impressive cars around.

As in the inaugural season, variety will again be the focus of a stable set of rules and regulations, with multiple class competition to continue in an effort to build on what was established in season one.

Eligible cars for P1 Class competition include the current 6SR cars of Lincspeed, Prince, Minetti, Speads, Stohr and West; and the current 2C cars of Radical SR3 and ADR3; plus the FIA Group CN cars from ADR3, Chiron, Juno, Ligier, Norma, Tatuus, and Wolf. 

 Image may contain: car and outdoor

Balance of Performance regulations have been developed ensure parity (see Sporting Regulations).

Each class will be recognised at each round, generating competition throughout the grid in every race.

The series will continue on the Shannons Nationals program with five rounds planned to ensure a diverse yet cost-effective calendar.

Hankook will support the championship as a sponsor and official tyre supplier.

Each round will include a broadcast package that includes Live Streaming of races at each round.