Next Round

  • Days
  • Hours
  • Mins
View All Rounds


Nov 13, 2019

APS field ready for intense season final

The 2019 Australian Prototype Series holds its hotly anticipated final round this week at The Bend Motorsport Park with the Shannons Nationals.

With 13 drivers part of the final round in South Australia, there is much to look forward to with four competitors in the running to claim top honours in season 2019.

Headlining the strong entry list is current series leader David Barram, who enters the finale having won two rounds this year and holds just a three-point advantage over Realty Lane’s Daniel Gonzalez.

Gonzalez, who won the most recent round at Winton Motor Raceway in August, sits 11 points ahead of teammate John Paul Drake.

Drake has been super consistent throughout the year and will be looking to claim his first round win for the year, needing some luck also to go his way if he is to finish ahead of Barram or Gonzalez.

The fourth driver in the running for the title needs a lot more luck than his Jam Motorsport teammate, with 2017 champion Mark Laucke just in the running as he sits 33 points behind Barram.

Following the birth of his son, reigning champion Jason Makris made the shock announcement of his return into the final round, with the goal to shake things up. Makris is one of two big additions into the entry list – the other being Greek International Andreas Laskaratos.

Laskaratos currently competes in the 2019 European Le Mans Series and was the first Greek driver to take part in the series, which runs on Formula 1 circuits with LMP3 race cars.

The Athens-born driver will be using the weekend as an opportunity to get some seat time ahead of a LMP3 meeting in January next year.

Melos Rendering’s Carmelo Bonaventura leads the way in the Radical Class and just one point behind him in the outright standings is current HANKOOK Cup runner-up, Glen Stallbaum.

Bonaventura will be up against four other drivers in the class with only 16 points separating Jon Grant, Susan Esselmont and Phillip Hughes in the close battle for class second place.

The final Radical car is Sue Hughes, with the Hughes Motorsport pilot enjoying a steady year in her return to the sport following a big crash last year.

Rounding out the entry list is Victorian Brian Smith who also makes his long awaited debut in the series after purchasing a car last year. Smith will join Gonzalez, Stallbaum and Laskaratos in a tough HANKOOK Cup field.

The series will have two practice sessions on Friday, followed by qualifying on Saturday morning and race one on Saturday afternoon. The final race of the 2019 season will see drivers on track for 35 minutes during the afternoon session on Sunday.

Tickets to the Shannons Nationals start from $20 per day and $30 for a weekend pass. Click here to purchase tickets to the season finale.

Fans unable to attend the round can catch the live stream on

The final round of the series and the Shannons Nationals will take place at the Bend Motorsport Park on 15-17 November.