Next Round

  • Days
  • Hours
  • Mins
View All Rounds


Aug 4, 2019

Makris claims chaotic race two

Jason Makris has won an incident marred second race at Queensland Raceway, with Series leader David Barram and Daniel Gonzalez both failing to finish after a last lap clash. 

Gonzalez locked brakes and rear-ended Barram on turn three of the final lap after some very close racing between the pair in Sunday morning’s race. 

It was a disappointing end for the duo who have been strong all weekend – but their misfortune allowed Makris to claim the race win.

“I was watching him (Gonzalez) and David having a good battle there, I kept my cool and didn’t want to engage in it too much because I could see that they were playing a lot,” Makris said post-race.

“It came in my favour at the end of the race – but it was unlucky for those two.”

With a race win under the belt, Makris was aware there was still more work needed in the final race to back up his performance in Sunday’s finale. 

“I’ve got to look at the data and video,” Makris added.

“I think I need to get a bit more pace through turns one and two, once I can overcome that everywhere else around the track is perfect. We’ll reset, get ready and hopefully get the same result.”

John-Paul Drake and Paul Trengove were also beneficiaries of the late race incident, with Drake finishing second and Trengove an impressive third in his return to racing.

It was an enjoyable race for a healthy crowd at the Queensland circuit – Drake pushing both Gonzalez and Makris on the rolling start, making his way through to second by turn three.

While Barram led the race until he was hit by Gonzalez, there were plenty of changes for position behind. Makris and Gonzalez both making impressive passes on Drake to push themselves further up the field in the opening laps.

Sunday’s final 35 minute race gets underway at 3.35pm, with the action live streamed on and the Australian Prototype Series’ Facebook page. 

Race Two Results

1. Makris
2. Drake +6.6640
3. Trengove +16.4584
4. Laucke +19.9590
5. Bonaventura +35.3000
6. Rodgie +36.9030
7. Andrawos +1:06.6083
8. Stallbaum +1 lap
9. Beesley +1 lap
DNF. Barram

DNF. Gonzalez