Next Round

  • Days
  • Hours
  • Mins
View All Rounds


Jun 26, 2019

Prototypes to do battle on the Island

The Australian Prototype Series returns for its second round of 2019 after a dramatic season opener at Sydney Motorsport Park with 19 drivers set to battle it out on the iconic Phillip Island Grand Prix circuit.

Headlining the healthy field is round one winner Mark Short, who leads the series after picking up a third place and a race win during the two 25 minute races in Sydney.

The round was Short’s best performance in the series for a number of years with his last podium being the series’ inaugural race in 2017 at Sandown Raceway, a race he ended up winning.

Heading into the second round, Short will be hoping to recreate his new found form of two consecutive podiums, but will be facing a number of serious challenges from the series' top enders.

Leading the charge is 2017 champion Mark Laucke, who finished runner-up in the the last round and round one race one winner David Barram, who last won a round in Queensland last year.

A host of big names had a round to forget in Sydney with second race DNFs to reigning champion Jason Makris, multiple Radical Australia Cup champion Peter Paddon and John-Paul Drake - all of which will be hoping to bounce back in style.

Young guns Daniel Gonzales and Carmelo Bonaventura return to the fold after a solid outing in Sydney, with both drivers ending the round in the top-five and the latter also leading the Radical Class.

Bonaventura will have his hands full with Zig Fuhrmeister and Bill Medland leading the chasing pack of Radical drivers after finishing the season opener inside the outright top 10.

Some familiar faces return to the series for the first time this year with Phil Hughes, Paul Braico and Jonathan Stoeckel getting their 2019 campaigns started after finishing third, fifth and seventh outright in 2018.

The Phillip Island entry list also welcomes two female drivers for the first time this year with both Susan Esselmont and Sue Hughes competing in the Radical class. Hughes’ entry marks her grand return to the sport after a serious collision last year put her out action for a long time.

Rounding out the entry list are three debutants with Radical pilot Jon Grant joining West drivers Glen Stallbaum and Phillip Andrawos.

Last time the series competed on the island, Makris sealed his maiden title with two race wins, while Hughes jumped Drake to sneak onto the outright podium.

With free practice sessions taking place on Friday, Qualifying takes place on Saturday morning setting up the first 13-lap race on Saturday afternoon at 12:30pm.

The second 13-lap race kicks off on Sunday morning at 9:30am before the final race of the weekend takes place at 11:45am with 16 laps to cap off the weekend.

All races can be viewed live via the live stream on or

#11 - Daniel Gonzalez (WA) - Realty Lane/Jam Motorsport - Wolf Tornado (White)
#14 - Carmelo Bonaventura (QLD) - Melos Rendering - Radical SR3 (Black)
#16 - Mark Short (SA) - MSR Motorsport Fabrication - Prince LSR (Black)
#23 - Philip Andrawos (SA) - Andrawos Auto - West WR1000 (Grey)
#24 - Susan Esselmont (VIC) - MLAI Racing & Technology - Radical SR3 RS (Black)
#26 - Zig Fuhrmeister (VIC) - Elec Motorsport - Radical SR3 RS (White)
#31 - Peter Paddon (NSW) - First Focus - Radical SR3 RS (Black/White/Blue)
#32 - Sue Hughes (NSW) - Hughes Motorsport - Radical SR3 (Green/Black)
#42 - Philip Hughes (VIC) - Hughes Supercar Services - Radical SR3 (Red)
#44 - Jason Makris (QLD) - Mirage Racing - Marina Mirage Gold Coast/Jam Motorsport - Wolf Tornado (Black/Green)
#46 - David Barram (QLD) - Chrion LMP3-004 (Orange)
#51 - Jon Grant (VIC) - MLAI Racing & Technology - Radical SR3 RS (White)
#52 - Bill Medland (NSW) - RA Motorsport - Radical SR3 RSX (White)
#53 - Jonathan Stoeckel (VIC) - Stoeckel Racing - West WR1000 (Red)
#55 - Mark Laucke (SA) - Laucke Flour Mills/Jam Motorsport - Wolf Tornado (Black/Yellow)
#66 - John-Paul Drake (SA) - Jam Motorsport - Wolf GB08 CN (Black/Gold)
#70 - Glen Stallbaum (QLD) - Complete Karting/Haymes Paint/Jam Motorsport - West WX10 (Black/Yellow)
#80 - Paul Braico (NSW) - GWR - Radical SR3 RS (Silver/Black/Blue)
#81 - Chris Perini (NSW) - Radical SR3 (Red/Black)